Mustang painting in traffic circle on campus.

Launched in 2015, the UC Davis Academic Advisor Certificate series supports professional development for the broad campus advising community with a tri-level model that strives to engage advisors during different career stages. 

UC Davis Academic Advisor Certification Level One

The Level One Certificate establishes a baseline of knowledge that includes an introduction to critical campus resources and technology, as well as content that covers fundamental advising concepts.  Level One courses reflect Conceptual, Informational, and Relational student advising competency areas, derived from NACADA’s Advisor Training Competencies.  While the Office of Academic Advising urges all advisors to complete this foundational coursework, it is particularly important information for advisors who are new to the profession or new to UC Davis.  While the Level One certificate is not required, the Developing Deeper Advising Relationships series is a mandatory training workshop for ALL college and departmental advisors.

To achieve certification at level one, you must complete four core courses, as well as one elective course within a recommended two-year timeframe.  Registration for UC Davis Academic Advisor Certificate Level One coursework is available through the UC Learning Center

Our advising colleagues across campus have been responsible for developing certificate workshop curricula. Opportunity exists for further elective course offerings. For those who may be interested in developing and facilitating a new elective course, please complete the UC Davis Academic Advisor Certificate Series Elective Proposal. Send completed proposals here for review by the Advisor Training and Professional Development Task Force.

  1. Nuts and Bolts: Resources for Student Advisors*
  2. Working with Distressed and Distressing Students 
  3. Utilizing Advising Technology (Informational)
  4. Developing Deeper Advising Relationships**, 4-part series 
  5. One Elective (choose from below)

*A Nuts & Bolts course waiver is available to advisors who meet the below stipulated eligibility requirements.  To access the electronic waiver eCourse: log into the LMS via the UC Learning Center and type “Nuts Bolts Waiver” in the activity search tool. 

Eligibility requirements:

  • Must have held advisor position at UC Davis for two or more years.
  • Must pass online eCourse (covering workshop content) with a minimum score of 80%.

**Mandatory for all college and departmental advisors.


UC Davis Academic Advisor Certification Level Two (Pilot Stage)

Level Two Certification is known as the Academic Advisor Professional Development Project (AAPDP).  Enrollment is dependent upon completion of Level One Certification, additionally all enrollees must have worked in an advising position for at least five years with at least two years as an advisor at UC Davis.  AAPDP emphasizes a greater depth of material while fostering further specialization.  Advisors follow a structured independent project with guidance from an approved mentor to address a challenge or capitalize on an opportunity.  

In alignment with NACADA Core Competencies, AAPDP aims to increase advisors' capacity to advance student academic success by identifying conditions and enacting practices that promote persistence and support retention.  Project deliverable expectations include public/campus accessibility, transferability, and a contribution to equity and inclusivity.


UC Davis Academic Advisor Certification Level Three (Future Development)

After successful implementation and proven sustainability of the Level Two Certification, planning will begin for the scholarly Level Three Certification geared toward academically driven advisors with research and publishing goals.